when did ford gt win lemans

When Did Ford Gt Win Lemans? The 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans was the 34th Grand Prix of Endurance, and took place on 18 and 19 June 1966. It was also the seventh round of the 1966 World Sportscar Championship season. This was the first overall win at Le Mans for the Ford GT40 as well as the first overall win for an American constructor.

Did the 2017 Ford GT win Le Mans? One of the new Ford GT’s major milestones was the 50th anniversary win of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, winning the world’s most famous race 50 years after the first Ford GT40 crossed the finish line on the French track.

What years did Ford GT win Le Mans? Ferrari: The Le Mans Committee – Victory in 1966. The origins of the Ford GT40 and the victory at Le Mans in 1966.

Did the Ford GT win Le Mans in 2016?

Drivers Sebastien Bourdais, Joey Hand, and Dirk Muller won their class at Le Mans with this Ford GT in 2016 — fifty years after Ford Motor Company’s first victory in the French endurance race.

Who won the Lemans in 1966?

In 1966, Ford won the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the first time. The following year, they won again. The year after that, they won a third time. And in 1969, a fourth.

Did Ford win the 1966 Le Mans?

Ford dominated the Le Mans 24 Hours race in 1966, winning it for the first time, and taking all the podium places with its updated MkII and stellar driver line-up. But instead of euphoria on the podium, Chris Amon and Bruce McLaren, who were classified first, were strangely subdued.

Who won Le Mans in 2015?

Porsche took a stunning, historic victory in the 83rd running of the Le Mans 24 Hours as Formula 1 star and race debutant Nico Hulkenberg helped take the German manufacturer’s 17th win in the famous French race.

Did Chevy ever win Le Mans?

In 2005, Corvette C6. R won the American Le Mans Series championship during its first season.

How many Le Mans did Ford win?

Ford – 5 Titles The in 1966 race has been immortalised in the Hollywood blockbuster “Le Mans 66” and the Ford GT40 became a supercar in motorsport legend. Ford won in 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1975.

Who won 1967 Le Mans?

Dan Gurney and A.J. Foyt, a win, two firsts, two feats – At the time 32 years old, in 1967 Anthony Joseph “A.J.” Foyt became the only driver to win in the same year (10 days apart) the Indianapolis 500 (May 31st) and the 24 Hours of Le Mans (June 11th), the two oldest circuit races in the history of motorsports begun …

Who won Le Mans in 1965?

After the failure of the works team, the winners were Masten Gregory and Jochen Rindt in the North American Racing Team (NART) car – the first non-works team to win since Ecurie Ecosse in 1957. It was also the first international race victory for Goodyear tyres.

Who won 1968 Le Mans?

On September 29, 1968, Pedro Rodriguez became the first, and only to-date, Mexican driver to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans, with Lucien Bianchi in the John Wyer team’s Ford GT40.

Who won Lemans 24 hours 2016?

Jani overcame the one-minute gap with the ailing Toyota and passed it on the final lap, taking the race victory; It was Jani and co-driver Marc Lieb’s first Le Mans win and Romain Dumas’ second. The sister Toyota of Stéphane Sarrazin, Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi finished three laps behind in second, while the No.

Who won Le Mans in 1969?

The 1969 race was the second Le Mans victory in a row for John Wyer and his team and the fourth and final win for the Ford GT40, sealing its place as one of the most successful sportscars of all time.

When did Ford last win Le Mans?

Its endurance racing legacy was revived with the launch of the latest-generation, EcoBoost-powered Ford GT racing program, one that scored a breakout class win at the 2016 Le Mans race—50 years after Ford’s signature triumph in 1966.

Who won Le Mans 2014?

Photo: LE MANS (SARTHE, FRANCE), CIRCUIT DES 24 HEURES, 24 HOURS OF LE MANS, SUNDAY JUNE 15 2014, RACE. The Audi e-tron quattro #2 win the Le Mans 24 Hours for the third time.

Is Nico Hulkenberg retired?

The German has revealed that his last chance to return to Formula 1 was for the 2022 season, but he admits there is no way to get back on the grid. Nico Hulkenberg has confirmed that he will not return to Formula 1 in the future as his final chance to be on the grid in 2022 has disappeared.

When did Hulkenberg join F1?

Hülkenberg raced in Formula One in 2010 with the Williams team. Despite claiming the first pole position for Williams in more than five years, he was not retained for 2011 and joined Force India as a test and reserve driver.

Did Corvette ever win 24 Hours of Le Mans?

The Corvette C7. R scored its first Le Mans win at the 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans, with Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner, and Jordan Taylor driving the #64 Corvette to victory in the GTE-Pro class. It is also Corvette Racing’s 8th win at the circuit.

Did Lamborghini ever win Le Mans?

Lamborghini is involved in GT3 racing, plus the Blancpain series, but it has never won an outright trophy at Le Mans, much less Formula One.

Did Corvette win Le Mans?

Chevrolet’s 100th anniversary year and the 10th anniversary of Corvette Racing’s first Le Mans win ended in fitting style with a drama-filled GTE Pro win for Beretta, Garcia and team newcomer Tommy Milner in the No. 73 Corvette C6.

Did A.J. Foyt win Le Mans?

Though Foyt was a talented IndyCar driver, he also enjoyed success in multiple disciplines of racing. He partnered with legendary driver Dan Gurney behind the wheel of a Ford GT40 Mk. IV to win the 1967 24 Hours of Le Mans, becoming the first all-American team to win the grueling race.

How many Ferrari P4 are there?

1967 was a banner year for the Enzo Ferrari motor company, as it saw the production of the mid-engined 330 P4, a V12-engined endurance car intended to replace the previous year’s 330 P3. Only four Ferrari P4-engined cars were ever made: three new 330 P4s and one ex P3 chassis (0846).

Who won Lemans in 1964?

Jean Guichet and Nino Vaccarella took this Ferrari 275P to victory at the 1964 Le Mans 24 Hours, and, on February 9, it is expected to break the previous Artcurial/Bardinon record of £24m at auction. The current Artcurial/Bardinon record holder is the 1957 Ferrari 355 S Scaglietti.

Trafficautodriving Scroll to Top